Great North Bump - Pregnancy · Health

19 weeks: double trouble

This week’s Baby size as fruit or vegetable: Grapefruit

Pregnancy symptom of the week: Scan jitters!

This week saw another nervy countdown to the 20 week (well, 19+5) scan, although we have been preoccupied with decorating our bedroom, and in reality I was a lot less terrified about the whole thing than I was for the dating scan. Feeling Bump’s reassuring wriggles every day now, I was just eager to see that everything was developing as it should be, and of course to hopefully find out what flavour baby they were.

wpid-dsc_0475.jpg
Our wriggly little boy!

Just as at the 12 week scan, things could not have gone better. Bump seems to be growing well and everything was present and correct. And we were lucky to find out that we will be welcoming another BOY to the family! After having it in my head that I would have one of each and Bump would be a girl, I could not be more thrilled that Little Man is going to have a little brother – definitely double trouble!

Our tiny boy moved around constantly during the scan as we marvelled at his seemingly long legs curled up to his tummy, his little fists waving about (at one point sucking his thumb), and the amazing sight of the chambers of his heart beating fast in his chest. I had to roll onto my side at one point to encourage him to turn around so the midwife sonographer could get all the necessary measurements. I have a feeling this one will be a little tinker like his big brother.

wpid-img_20150214_172409.jpg
19 week bump in stripy maternity top from New Look

Suddenly everything feels very real. We’re just about into the second half of my pregnancy, we know what we’re expecting, and we’re going to come to the business end of my ‘high risk’ problems in the coming weeks. I’ll be seen by the community midwife at 25 weeks for a blood pressure and urine check as the spectre of pre-eclampsia raises its head and we can hopefully keep it at bay. Then will come the first of my extra growth scans at 28 weeks, along with an appointment to see the consultant. The additional checks are very reassuring for me I have to say, and I’ll also be seen again by the folic acid study team soon too, which will mean more observations to ensure I’m on the right track. So far I am, and that’s all that matters right now.

I’m off to look at boy baby names.

 

I’m linking up with Ghostwriter Mummy’s Maternity Matters

Maternity Matters~ Ghostwritermummy

2 thoughts on “19 weeks: double trouble

  1. Aw I love this post so much!! So lovely that you’ll gave two boys 🙂 I can’t wait to hear your name choices!!

    Thanks for linking up to #MaternityMatters lovely x x

Join in and leave a reply

