Health · Running

#Miles4MAMA month 2 update

Total Miles For MAMA so far: 103/1000

Weight lost this month: 10lb 

Total weight lost: 1st (hurrah!)

Miles4MAMA imageOn September 13th I began my #Miles4MAMA challenge to cover a distance of 1000 miles by walking, running or exercise bike in ten months, leading up to Jake’s first birthday on July 13th 2016. The aim is to raise both awareness and funds for MAMA Academy, so that we can spread the word about our Wellbeing Wallets and to enable us as a charity to provide more wallets for more pregnant women. The ultimate aim of course is to equip as many women as possible with the knowledge they need for more babies to arrive safely!

So what have I been up to during the second month of the challenge? Well, as you might expect, nowhere near as much as I should have! I was struck down by illness, just a bit of a nasty cold, but it left me feeling quite drained so I had a week in the middle when I did precisely zero exercise. To be honest, I haven’t fully picked myself back up again for one reason or another – think I’m going into hibernation mode for the winter!

Speaking of winter, the weather up here has been unseasonably mild some days, but we have had so much wind and rain it is definitely not inviting to be outside for any length of time. I’ve not done as much walking as a consequence and have not been for a single run all month! I’ve been relying on the exercise bike in the comfort of my own home to rack the miles up, and I am pleased to have passed the first hundred mark, even if it’s a bit behind schedule 🙂

I’m going to have to buck my ideas up though in the coming weeks – in addition to the Great Manchester Run 10k race I’m committing to next May, I’ve also just made the decision to take up a place running for MAMA in the Great North Run next September! This will be after the official end of #Miles4MAMA but I think it will be worth continuing to tot them up for another couple of months to see how far I can get. It will be my third time doing the biggest half marathon in the country but my first time doing it in MAMA colours so I’m actually very excited, and my husband Andy will be running with me helping me along! Hopefully it will give me the motivation to get training properly.

Weight Watchers has been working brilliantly for me by the way, and I’ve just lost my first stone! Another stone and a half (or so) to go *puts down cake*.

I’m honoured to be joined in the #Miles4MAMA challenge by some fabulous bloggers (and a brilliant student midwife who has already jumped out of a plane for MAMA!), each working towards their own targets. Please check out some of their update posts via the linky here and show your support!

You can simply sponsor a mile by texting MAMA00 £2 to 70070 or visit our fundraising page to make a donation which will make an enormous difference to our work.

  • £2 will fund a Wellbeing Wallet for a pregnant mum
  • £5 will help us provide trial batches of our wallets to hospital trusts for midwives to distribute for free
  • £10 will assist us in developing training resources for midwives, like our mini video providing guidance on measuring bumps more accurately
  • £20 will help Heidi and other members of the team attend events, meetings and conferences to enable us to take an active part in improving maternity services

Join the #Miles4MAMA challenge! Please get in touch at jenny@mamaacademy.org.uk if you’d like to join the team.

wpid-fb_img_1443168721183.jpg

Join in and leave a reply

